Plumbing Newbie Q - Permanent pipe compound for securing spigots??

Users who are viewing this thread

holmburgers

Reaction score
Kansas (originally), now in Vienna, Austria
Hello All,

I am a newbie when it comes to plumbing and currently in the process of building a darkroom. I am hoping the collective knowledge of this forum can help answer my (hopefully) simple question.

I have attached a photograph of the fittings in question. The wall-mount fixture on the right needs to be oriented in a specific direction in relation to my darkroom sink; this will be firmly secured in wood. Then, the spigot needs to be oriented so that it points down and in the right direction for use.

The issue I'm having is that with thread-sealant tape, the natural position at which the spigot stops turning in the threads does not give me the orientation I need.

What I would like is some kind of pipe compound that FIRMLY SECURES the position of the fixtures at a point where the spigot is rotated and oriented where I need it; not where the thread-cutting machine determines it should be...

Is there such a product that creates a water-tight seal and firmly dries and hardens to ensure a rock-solid joint between these two fixtures? I am completely fine with this being a "permanent" installation.

How do professionals deal with such situations? For instance if you were installing a hose outside of your house, you'd want the wall-mount fixture mounted upright and of course for the spigot to point downward; but what if the threads don't agree?!

What products are designed for this kind of application? Are there any suitable "hacks"? (i.e. epoxy, polyurethane glue, etc.)

The spigot, once secured, needs to stand up to the rigors of daily use and therefore whatever adhesive/caulking compound used really needs to be extremely strong, hard and permanent.

Thanks in advance for any input!

Chris