Plumbing Layout and Sizing Input

Users who are viewing this thread

everydayak

Reaction score
Greetings everyone. I could use some expertise. I am a heavy equipment operator and have laid quite a bit of underground sewer, but this is my first residential plumbing project. This is for a cabin I am building. It is being built in a remote area with no building codes. I do want it to function properly and follow standard practices. For scale the toilet is just under 5' from the soil stack.

All the best.

Screen Shot 2014-04-08 at 8.13.51 PM.jpg

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
You have two S-traps there - the kitchen sink and the lavatory. You MUST bring the vent off of the trap arm before it turns down. Personally, I'd also run 2" pipe for the kitchen sink, and I don't see any cleanouts. The bathtub can't have the toilet running by its trap arm until it is vented. I'm not sure if the WM standpipe is correct, either...I'm not sure exactly what's there, but I think it, too is an S-trap. Not sure if the kitchen sink an WM may need a larger line, but one of the pros should know.

everydayak

Reaction score
Understood, thanks for the input. I can see where I went wrong, back to the drawing board.

Kiton

Reaction score
EverydayAK,

I think you need to adjust your venting of the sinks, but certainly the bathroom sink. :

905.3 Unless prohibited by structural conditions, each vent shall rise vertically to a point not less than six (6) inches (152 mm) above the flood-level rim of the fixture served before offsetting horizontally, and whenever two (2) or more vent pipes converge, each such vent pipe shall rise to a point not less than six (6) inches (152 mm) in height above the flood-level rim of the plumbing fixture it serves before being connected to any other vent. Vents less than six (6) inches (152 mm) above the flood-level rim of the fixture shall be installed with approved drainage fittings, material, and grade to the drain.

PS