Please help with copper supply line sizing

Users who are viewing this thread

Steve Hernandez

Reaction score
Hello, this is my first time posting on this forum. I've been lurking for a long time and gaining all types of knowledge which has been great for my current remodel. My wife and I completely gutted the main floor of our 1970s style 3000 sq ft ranch and are in the process of rebuilding everything. With our first child on the way I'm under the gun to keep this remodel moving along!

My question is in regards to properly sizing my supply lines. We are on a private well and the pressure gauge at the well is set at 40PSI. I've attached an image of our layout and my current thoughts on supply line sizes but I was hoping for some professional feedback on what I have diagramed here. Also, is there any need for a pressure booster? We will potentially have a total of 3 full bathrooms and two half bathrooms, along with the usual kitchen and laundry demands. Obviously this will not all be running at once. Another issue is that we have some pretty long runs because of the location of the well in regards to the water heater and all the fixtures (downside of a large ranch house).

Any and all help, suggestions, thoughts, etc. would be very much appreciated. Thank you to all those who've already helped me without even knowing it through previous forum posts that I was able to follow.

Supply Line Layout.jpg

Reach4

Reaction score
We are on a private well and the pressure gauge at the well is set at 40PSI. I've attached an image of our layout and my current thoughts on supply line sizes but I was hoping for some professional feedback on what I have diagramed here. Also, is there any need for a pressure booster?
When you describe a pressure switch adjustment for a well, you use two numbers, such as 40/60 or 25/45. That is cut-in and cut-out.