Votes: 5 50.0%
  • Manifold

Votes: 5 50.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

Users who are viewing this thread

phantom

Reaction score
First of all, this has got to be the most useful website I have seen in quite some time. exactly what i needed to read up and I sincerely appreciate all that everyone has contributed so far. Unfortunately, I am a novice at this so I will be "using" more than "providing".

I just got an estiamte for an "easy" galvanized repipe that was $5k :eek: . I'm quickly becoming a DIY kinda guy. Here is my dilema. I am going to replace my pipes with pex. I think that there are two varying methods, the "main" method and the "manifold" method

Main -- my handyman wants to layout the pex like he would copper, meaning large main hot & large main cold with 1/2 inch runners going out to the sink, etc..

Manifold -- I was thinking that we'd have a manifold with small 1/2 running from the manifold to each place water is needed.

Other than the obvious manifold advantage "less places to crimp means less places it could leak" are there other advantages or disadvantages to either?

Anyone know where I can get a manifold in Bellevue, WA?

Much Thanks in advance!,
-Phantom
:D

Last edited:

phantom

Reaction score
gosh i had no idea

He's not doing the plumbing. I am. We disagree on how I will do the layout. Are you telling me that I can't fix the plumbing on my own house?

what law am I breaking?

Racer814

Reaction score
no man...you can plumb your own house as long as you pull the permit and get it inspected

besides, running pex takes little plumbing skill anyway

as far as which method..depends upon water heater location to me....if it is centrally located I would just do a standard installation....if it is a long way from some of the fixtures I would at least do a hot side manifold ..... you will decrease the waiting time for hot water as you won't need to run any 3/4" pipe and you can take a more direct route to each fixture