PEX Crimp Rings - Possible Installation Problems

Users who are viewing this thread

HaydenTO

Reaction score
Hello.
Love these forums. This is my first post.
OP updated with my findings in red. Thanks all for your input.

I'm a Construction Manager and I have a plumber on a job using PEX with crimp rings and I think he may be a bit of a cowboy. I don't need to discover leaks in walls down the road so I checked some of his crimps. I understand how the PEX Copper Crimp tool works and how to check with the double sided Go/NoGo gauge tool (different spots on gauge to check Go and NoGo). My questions are these:

1 What if the GO side if the gauge tool fits but it is a bit hard to press on? Is this still a good fit or should it slip on easy? (videos seem to suggest it should slide on without resistance)
Answer: Gauge should slide easily over crimp and not need to be forced on.

2 What if the GO gauge fits but then does not fit same crimp when tried at 90 degrees from first check (meaning crimp may be slightly oblong)? Is it still a "Valid crimp" if the GO gauge fits at minimum somewhere around the crimp?
Answer: I was told by one Sharkbite rep that the crimp may leave tiny nubs at the point where tool teeth touch. In that case the gauge may not slip over this specific part of the crimp. The other said it should fit any way it is put on. I tested several crimps from two different tools on 1/2" PEX (with and without fittings), and found all my crimps were near perfect circles and the gauge fit easily and was able to swivel around the pipe/crimp easily. So my thinking is the answer to this question is it should fit one way then 90 degrees to that check. If it does not fit well all around the crimp you may have an oblong/oval crimp which I would suspect could be caused by a tool needing calibration or replacement.