Outlet tabs ok to remove?

Users who are viewing this thread

Linds

Reaction score
If an outlet's two black wires are on the same circuit, is there a negative to pulling the tab between them?

On the contrary, if the two black wires are different circuits, then not pulling the tab would trip the breaker, right?

Reach4

Reaction score
If an outlet's two black wires are on the same circuit, is there a negative to pulling the tab between them?
I have rethought this. What do you mean by two black wires? It used to be common to power the next outlet in a row that way, where a black came from the breaker panel, and a different black carried power to the next outlet. I think that is not allowed in current codes-- I think they want you to chain to the next with a wire nut. But if it was OK when it was put in, it does not have to be retrofit. Technically (rather than code-required) in my opinion it is fine to daisychain that way. I am not an electrician, and I don't have a problem with the jumpers used for daisy chaining.

But let me say that if the daisy chaining is done that way, just removing the jumper would de-power one or more downstream outlets.

Why do you ask? Been looking in an outlet box, and getting the urge to remove stuff?

On the contrary, if the two black wires are different circuits, then not pulling the tab would trip the breaker, right?
Maybe. If they are on opposite legs (out of phase with each other), yes. If they are on the same leg, then no. However opening one breaker would not kill the power to the circuit, because the other breaker would still supply the circuit.

To not remove the tab in the case you describe is a bad idea -- not just a code violation.

Last edited:

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score