Old Subfloor Under Cast Iron Tub

Users who are viewing this thread

Elliot Coard

Hooks
Reaction score
Hey everyone, this is my first DIY renovation. I'm mechanically inclined (Auto tech by trade), and I pride myself on research, just so I have a general idea and am not completely ignorant to what's going on. :cool: With that being said, My home was built in 1924, I just gutted the bathroom, and decided to remove the the tub to modernize the space, as it's only 5x5. After smashing the cast iron tub to pieces, I noticed that the sub-floor underneath is uneven. o_O

It looks as if it mortar, or sand even, compacted between wooden beams (Joists? Forgive me for use of incorrect terminology if any). I Plan on using a KBRS tile basin (30x60). Manufacturers specs calls for an application of thinset on plywood to set the base. Am I able to smooth out the existing subfloor by chiseling out the higher pieces? Would I then be able to add a piece of plywood, ensuring it's leveled of course, to set the base? Or would more of the mortar have to be poured to ensure a leveled surface before adding the plywood? :confused: Any insight is greatly appreciated!

Attached are pictures of the subfloor. Don't mind the galvanized piping, as that's getting upgraded too. ;)

IMG_6685.jpg
IMG_6684.jpg

wwhitney

In the Trades
Reaction score
If you look closely at the area around the tub shoe (the drain that was on the bottom of the tub), I think you will see that there are boards running between the joists at level a 1-2" below the top of the joists. In between would likely be what's called a mud bed, which is a lean mixture of sand and Portland cement and is a setting bed for tile. So I assume the mud bed extends under the tile, and you should be able to see that at the edge of the tiled area.