"old" 1500 Series Delta Shower Faucet/Trim Replacement

Users who are viewing this thread

knscarlato

Reaction score
Hello All!

I am in need of hep! I am very new to this type of project, so bare with in my attempt to explain myself. I am looking to replace my current shower handle with something more up to date. I believe the current model is the Delta 1500 or Delta 1700, but not quite sure. At this point, I do not want to have to replace the entire valve, just the handle and plate behind it. What are my options at this point? Do I need to get some sort of converter? or are there models out there now that will fit this type of valve? ANY info on this would be a great help!

DSC_0078.jpg
DSC_0082.jpg
DSC_0085.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
There are lots of choices if it's a 1700 series. Delta sells their trim kits with a cartridge, and that is sold separately from the rough-in valve (unless you buy it at a big-box store, where they package them together). If you go to their website, you should be able to identify it, and then, it's just pick something you like in that series.

delta-temp-control.jpg

knscarlato

Reaction score
I am also looking to do the same thing with the handle on the tub....

DSC_0067.jpg
DSC_0110.jpg

Smooky

In the Trades
Reaction score
Use the delta web site to get an idea what you can do:

Jadnashua

Reaction score
Try to identify what you have...then, see what series it belongs to. The tub valve does not appear to be the 1700 series, but you have not shown the rough-in/cartridge of the other valve.