Non vented plumbing in Costa Rica

Users who are viewing this thread

Nils Hammerbeck

Reaction score
Greetings. I'm a CA architect living in Costa Rica. I confess I don't know plumbing logistics too well. Neither do the locals. I'm living in a jungle house that's about 15 years old, and all fixtures were installed without roof venting. It's on a septic tank with a leach field. There is a downstairs apartment and an upstairs one. The downstairs studio has a kitchen sink, a bathroom sink, a shower and a toilet. Upstairs has a sink and a toilet and we are about to add a shower and a kitchen sink. None of the system seems to drain well, and the toilet burps sewer gases. It's quite lovely. NOT! The structure is made of steel and concrete. I've been researching AAV's but don't really know where to install them. Is anyone out here able to help lend some advice?

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
A good article is this one
Helpful Plumbing Hints for Residential Construction by Bert Polk Plumbing Inspector Lincoln County

Basically, Every fixture should have a p-trap to prevent sewer gas from entering the home from the septic tank. Every p-trap should be vented to prevent siphoning of the water seal in the p-trap. Some of those can be done with AAV's (auto air vent) and you need at least one through the roof to open air for that to work. Venting is normally both negative and positive pressure, the AAV's work on negative.

Some fixture can share venting, called wet venting. Those are bathroom fixtures like the lav, tub/shower and toilet. Sometimes the lav is used to wet vent the other bathroom fixtures.
Fixtures that we don't wet vent are kitchen sinks, washers, and laundry sinks.

For a wet vent to work, the common piping needs to be large enough to handle both the water and air passing over it. A small pipe pulls with too much force.

arizman-04.jpg