No water

Users who are viewing this thread

H2Oseeker

Reaction score
I am a well novice. Gauge is reading 0 PSI. When I turn on the pump breaker it kicks the pipes and I can hear the pump. I thought the pipes might be clogged because I have a ton of silt (and iron), so I disconnected the pvc pipe right above what I think is called the cap (on the ground where the water pipe and electric go down into the well). Same situation, the water pipe kicks when I hit the breaker but nothing comes out. I thought maybe it lost its prime, but that doesn't really seem possible with a submersible. The only other things I can think of is that the pump is turning on but somehow otherwise not functioning or that it is sucking too much silt and somehow clogged things further down.

Any ideas? Thanks in advance

Boycedrilling

In the Trades
Reaction score
1. Hole in drop pipe.
2. Pump unscrewed from drop pipe.
3. Dry well.
4. Something else

You need a clamp on amp meter to measure how many amps the pump motor is drawing. If you have or buy one, and feel comfortable using it, you can trouble shoot it. If you don’t, you need to call a pump company. You may also need to be able to determine the depth to water in the well.

Reach4

Reaction score
Thanks. I have a clamp on amp meter. Do you have any tips on troubleshooting?
Measure the amps on the power to the pump system while the pump is on. To make that useful, you should know the HP of the pump.

Also confirm that you have regular 240 volt power, and not 120 or 3-phase.

Do you have a control box?

Last edited:

H2Oseeker

Reaction score