No water pressure..

Users who are viewing this thread

Michael Frederick

Reaction score
I've recently moved in with my girlfriend. The house was built around 1992 and it has Well water. Back in the spring of this year before I moved in my girlfriend had noticed the water pressure gradually decreasing. It grew steadily worse and by the time I moved in at the end of July the kitchen faucet was running at just a trickle. She bought the house in 1996 and had never had an issue with the well with the exception of a pressure switch. I measured the flow rate at the pump head at just 2 gallons per minute. Although I've never worked on a well before that number seemed incredibly low for a 3 bedroom house. With money being tight we shopped and around and purchased a new submersible pump. Again since Ive never worked on a well I wasn't familiar with flow rate and such we ended up purchasing a smaller one and didn't realize it until I got the old one pulled from the well. I installed the new pomp which is 1/4 hp less than the old pump. The date on the old pump is April of 1993 and was at a depth of 180. Since the new pomp is slightly smaller I only put it down 100 feet. We now have a flow rate of 12 gallons per minute at the pump head but still have no pressure in the house. Is 12 gpm at the wellhead acceptable?

WorthFlorida

Clinical Trail on a Cancer Drug Started 1/31/24. ☹
Solutions
Reaction score
Is there any water flow in the house at all? Is the pump running by the pressure switch or you bypass it to check the flow rate?

12 gpm is more than acceptable. you made no mention of the pressure tank. If it's a bladder type, the bag may have failed or it just needs to be charged with air. There are plenty of YouTube that show how it is done. You can post the tank model # & size here for more help.

Last edited:

LLigetfa

DIYer, not in the trades
Reaction score