No flow from nearest faucets after water heater replaced

Users who are viewing this thread

2002sheds

Reaction score
Hi,
I have been doing most of the repairs around our house for over 30 years, but this one has me stumped...
I replaced the water heater in the garage, turned everything back on, opened the nearest hot water faucet (kitchen, next to garage), got tons of air rushing out, then nothing... I opened the cold faucet on the same sink, and also got nothing. The faucets that are further away are not affected and work fine. There is no aerator on the affected sink, so it is not grit blocking the flow.
I also opened the hot water faucet on the laundry sink in the garage, and it, too was "empty"... In that case, the cold water was fine.
I have no idea what to look for. Any pointers will be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
David

Plumber69

In the Trades
Reaction score
Shut the valve feeding the sink with no water and take the supply off. Check for water. Sometimes there's a screen between the valve and the supply to. The cartridges in the faucet can plugged up to

2002sheds

Reaction score
Shut the valve feeding the sink with no water and take the supply off. Check for water. Sometimes there's a screen between the valve and the supply to. The cartridges in the faucet can plugged up to

Hi,
Will do. It is strange to me that both hot and cold have ZERO water coming out of the nearest faucet (even if filled with grit), but your troubleshooting method makes sense. I will do some "surgery" and report back.

Dj2

In the Trades
Reaction score
Also check the aerator on the faucet: remove it and see if you have water coming out the faucet.

PlumbingWay.com

Pasadena Plumbing
Reaction score
Website
www.plumbingway.com
i agree with Plumber69, we always install cap screen between the valve and the supply which at times will get clogged, should be an easy fix, please do update, we are all curios what the issue is.

thank you

2002sheds

Reaction score
Hi All,