New sink not perfectly aligned with drain

Users who are viewing this thread

DanW

Reaction score
Hi, I'm just wondering if the attached picture of the alignment is fine. I'm sure I can get the tail pipe on the new sink into the existing drain pipe, but the alignment is slightly off. There will be a little tension on the tail pipe. Total newb so maybe this is obvious. But is this ok?

Attachments

• image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    25.1 KB · Views: 749

Reach4

Reaction score
Not fine as is. How about a photo of the bottom area.

DanW

Reaction score
The photo from above shows the amount of offset. The tail pipe is not installed in the sink. It is just the hole looking down at the drain pipe below from directly above. You can see the plastic compression nut of the drain pipe. That's how little it is off. I'll take a pic from underneath. I assume you want to see how the tail pipe aligns (or misaligns) with the drain pipe?

I'll get a couple more pics. It's all PVC...I was hoping there'd be a way to make a slight adjustment without cutting it off and redoing.

Last edited:

Reach4

Reaction score
I assume you want to see how the tail pipe aligns (or misaligns) with the drain pipe?
They want to see the area that includes the connection to the wall, the P-trap, and the bottom of the sink.

Reaction score
It's all PVC...I was hoping there'd be a way to make a slight adjustment without cutting it off and redoing.
Think realistically what your choices are:

1. Move the sink.
2. Get an acetylene torch, cut out the sink hole, re-weld it accordingly (this is actually how you fix obscure engine mounting holes in cars).
3. Cut the soft PVC and re-do it.

Note: One of these three is easier than the rest.

DanW

Reaction score
Two sounds like the easiest!

I'm not really averse to redoing the pvc. My only issue is how to cut it. The p trap is close to the wall and in terms of alignment with sink hole front to back its fine.