New sink is too low, can I omit drain tail piece?

Users who are viewing this thread

Missus

Reaction score
I’m installing a new vanity. The sink is deeper now compared to previous sink. The drain will end up right at the p trap opening. Can I just omit using the tail piece from the drain and install the drain straight into the p trap?

This is my drain: https://www.homedepot.com/p/KEENEY-...erflow-in-Polished-Chrome-5680CTNOK/314593320

And this is my vanity: https://www.homedepot.com/p/Glacier...osite-Vanity-Top-in-White-LC36P2-WH/204089859

CFC0F68F-C4A8-4D18-B726-C16878D5F26E.jpeg

Missus

Reaction score
It all balances out. The distance going up is countered by the distance going down.
Thank you. And is there a specific reason why we can’t just omit the tail piece of the drain? I thought the purpose of the tail piece is only to add height. Please correct me if I’m wrong, I’m an amateur DIYer.

LLigetfa

DIYer, not in the trades
Reaction score
Thank you. And is there a specific reason why we can’t just omit the tail piece of the drain? I thought the purpose of the tail piece is only to add height. Please correct me if I’m wrong, I’m an amateur DIYer.
You can shorten it but you cannot eliminate it since the tailpiece connects to the P-trap.

Reach4

Reaction score
Is there a minimum length the tailpiece needs to be? Can it be like 2.5 inches short?
No minimum. Gotta hold the water in. Trap arm needs to be lower than the basket.

If you can make that all happen, you are good.

wwhitney

In the Trades
Reaction score