New pressure switch sparks every time when cutting out at 50 PSI, it is normal?

Users who are viewing this thread

Raymond D

Reaction score
I am a first timer replacing my pressure tank. We have a private well. I hope I will get some advice here since I've very little knowledge on the subject.

I just installed a new tank (32 gallons) with new tank tee, pressure switch, check valve, gauge, etc.

The pressure switch is Plumb Eeze (30/50) and tank pressure has been set to 28 psi.

However, th0ugh the pressure switch cuts in timely at 30psi, it will pause at around 42 psi, wait for couple of minutes or longer before proceeding to 50 psi. When the switch cuts out finally at 50 psi, there is a spark at disconnecting EVERY single time. The spark sometimes is slight, sometimes rather noticeably loud and in bright yellow. I just wonder if these sparks are normal.

I searched this forum and noticed two other posts on similar topics. One response was that sparks are normal since there's electricity going through the contacts. From another comment on the Internet, I was told to just put back the pressure switch cover, all is good then because sparks are normal.

I would like to hear more from the plumbers and experienced DIYers about electricity sparks on pressure switches.

Thank you so much!

Reach4

Reaction score
Sparks are normal. If your pump is set for 115 volts, and you can change to 230, sparks will be less.

What horsepower is your pump motor, and what is the voltage?

However, th0ugh the pressure switch cuts in timely at 30psi, it will pause at around 42 psi, wait for couple of minutes or longer before proceeding to 50 psi.
How long does the pressure take to go from 30 to 42 psi? If it is just a few seconds or less, we might discuss precharge.

It could also be that you would be better to set your switch to 25/45 rather than 30/50.

Raymond D

Reaction score
Sparks are normal. If your pump is set for 115 volts, and you can change to 230, sparks will be less.