New Member Seeks Your Advice on Softener

Users who are viewing this thread

WestTexasRanger

Reaction score
Hello from West Texas!

I've been lurking around several Water Softener forums & websites and since this one seems to have the most knowledgeable members, I decided to join.

I live in a rural area where my water is provided by a well from the Ogallala Aquifer. The hardness can range from 500 ppm to 600 ppm (30 to 35 gpg). I'm a general contractor and built our home 15 years ago. The hard water has destroyed our faucets, restricted our washing machine fill valve and leaves deposits wherever it touches. I now regret not plumbing a soft water loop.

Anyway, it's time to tackle the hard water issue with a Softener, so I've come to y'all for help. Hopefully, you can help me avoid some of the hype and sales baloney I've read on various vendor websites.

Here's my scenario:

4 bedroom - 3 bath house - 2,800 square feet
Occupancy 50 weeks per year = 3
Occupancy 2 weeks per year = 11 (when the grandkids come to stay with us)
Hardness is 30 to 35 grains (depending on aquifer conditions)
No Iron
One - High capacity fixture (Roman Tub faucet)
Water well output = 16-17 gpm

My initial thought is to go with a 64,000 grain system, a Fleck 5600 SXT valve/controller and High Efficiency SST-60 Resin (2 Cubic Feet).

Am I headed down the right path?

Is the Fleck 5600 SXT difficult to program and/or does it allow much customization?

Will the SST-60 Resin really save 20% on salt?

I await your wisdom & knowledge...............

Bannerman

Reaction score
Will the SST-60 Resin really save 20% on salt?
The manufacturer claims 2-4 lbs reduction in salt required per regeneration cycle for each 1 cuft of resin. Unfortunately, the capacity settings nor actual salt dosages were defined. http://www.aquascience.net/purolite-sst-60-resin