New Install.. Help with Fleck 5600 SXT settings

Users who are viewing this thread

Beast

Reaction score
I recently bought a water softener and just installed the unit.

Everything went well with the install and the water softener is working but I did have a few questions and I'm hoping to get some answers and input as I'm a newb in all this.

I added 5 Gal of water with 3 40lb bags of salt to begin with then did a manual regeneration. After all that completed, the water in the brine tank was half way up the tank and something like 5 inches above the salt. Is this due to my BF time as shown below?

My Water Softener Specs (click link)

I have a Fleck 5600 SXT 48,000 Grain with 10% Crosslink resin as well as 1.5 cu.ft Carbon upflow Tank. I also have a 20" Big Blue sitting in front. This is City Water water.

I tested my water hardness with the HACH 5B Hardness Test Kit.

Here are my current settings that I'm sure need tuning

BLFC: .50 GPM 1.5LB
DF: GAL
VT: dF lb
CT: Fd
NT: 1
C: 48x1000
H: 10
RS: rC
RC: 225 (2 adults plus 9 month old baby. Also have a Nanny that comes for 8hr daily on weekdays)
DO: 14
RT: 2:30
BW: 10
BD: 60
RR: 10
BF: 14 (My novice self thinks this is why there is a lot of water in the tank?)
FM: P0.7

What are the best settings for my scenario?

Reach4

Reaction score
System info (not programmed)
salt lb/cuft = 8 ; A choice ( efficiency vs capacity)
BLFC = 0.5 ; Brine Refill rate GPM
cubic ft resin = 1.5 ; ft3 resin = (nominal grains)/32,000
Raw hardness = 11 ; including any compensation
People = 2 ; gallons affects reserve calc
Estimated gal/day = 225 ; 60 gal per person typical calc
Estimated days/regen = 14.5 ; Computed days ignoring reserve

Fleck 5600SXT Settings:
DF = Gal ; Units
VT = dF1b ; Downflw/Upflw, Single Backwash
CT = Fd ; Meter Delayed regen trigger
NT = 1 ; Number of tanks
C = 36.0 ; capacity in 1000 grains
H = 11 ; Hardness-- compensate if needed
RS = rc ; rc says use gallons vs percent