New Floodlight Install - power source/wiring advice

Users who are viewing this thread

Shobuddy

Reaction score
I'm looking to have a floodlight installed at my house. I'm going to have an electrician do the work as I'm a novice with electrical DIY but before I call the electrician, I want to get advice on the best way to wire a power source for the floodlight. The first attached image shows where two exterior lights exist on the front of the garage and where I want to install the floodlight (in the middle). The second image is taken from the inside of the garage facing out. There are electrical outlets in the garage on the back wall as well as for the garage opener on the ceiling. All that said, what would be the best power source for the floodlight and is it easy enough to get the wiring through the brick or would the wiring need to be exposed on the outside? Any input would be great, TIA and happy holidays!

Attachments

• InkedIMG_20201222_134435_LI.jpg
    InkedIMG_20201222_134435_LI.jpg
    94.6 KB · Views: 148
  • IMG_20201222_1346032.jpg
    IMG_20201222_1346032.jpg
    39.2 KB · Views: 158

WorthFlorida

Clinical Trail on a Cancer Drug Started 1/31/24. ☹
Solutions
Reaction score
Most likely a hole will be drilled through the brick and wired up to the garage door opener outlet. If you want it switch controlled, a switch could be added between the doors on the inside or brought to the back wall by the door to the home. Being a garage location there is a lot of flexibility since essentially there are no finished walls. All you need to tell the electrician where you want the light and a switch and he'll figure the rest.

If the flood light is to be motion sensored, it can be left on or turned on at any time by flipping the power on-off-on to override the sensor.

Shobuddy

Reaction score
Thanks for the response. Would it be "plugged" into the outlet or tapped into the outlet? It would be a motion sensor w/camera so I hadn't planned on having a switch.