New Construction - Multifamily

Users who are viewing this thread

Matthew Shultz

Plumbing Designer, EIT
Reaction score
Website
summitmep.com
Hey all, I'm a plumbing designer working in Texas - I have designed my fair share of apartments. Does anyone work as a plumbing contractor in the state, specifically with multifamily jobs? I have a few dissenting opinions in the office on the best way to route a typical bathroom.

I've done HWV for 2x lavs, WC, and tub/shr, standalone single stacks for bt/shr, standalone single stacks for lavs, etc. What is most common? Is there a 'best practice' and 'owner is a tightwad' routing?

The hardest part for me to get down is what happens in the field. Modern multifamily with truss construction is relatively simple, but a completely different ball game than traditional residential. I'm curious to get input from anyone with experience on these larger builds.

HWV example.png

(I attached a sample bathroom HWV riser, I've made hundreds of these damn things)

Thanks!

James Henry

In the Trades
Reaction score
Your drawing is not really typical of how it would be done, the connection to the stack is unusual. you need to realize that their are five different ways to plumb any bathroom configuration. when designing a bathroom plumbing layout you need a floor plan with the location of the fixtures, wall dimensions, floor construction and where your going to exit with the main drain, it also helps a lot if you know your local plumbing code.

Jeff H Young

In the Trades
Reaction score
I guess your IPC? but I'm UPC , I've never seen a 1 1/4 trap arm ? Minimum might allow an 1 1/2 wet vent but Id run 2 in the joist bay to santee above floor
A lot of our multi family is cast iron and you never run smaller than 2 inch any way. but just a general workmanship I'd want 2 inch at least to the santee above the floor.