New construction main waterline size 900' from meter

Users who are viewing this thread

ANP

Reaction score
Hello -

I am doing a little research about what size water line I need to run from the meter to the house. I have read several posts here, and I can't quite come up with the calculation myself (FYI I have no plumbing background).

Here is the info I do have:
- Fixtures : 5 faucets, 2 shower/tubs (1 rainhead), 1 washing machine, 2 outdoor spigots, 1 dishwasher.
-Meter is set at the road is a 1" meter. Main line the meter feeds off is 6"
-pressure at the street is 58psi
-minimal fall from the road (net maybe 2')
-all main fixtures on on ground floor with only the secondary bath upstairs (main floor will set minimum crawl space off the ground)
- house sits 900" from the road.

Any advice on the best size line/configuration to feed the home to maintain as much of the 58psi as possible? Also, is this enough pressure or do I need to consider an option to increase that pressure?

Thanks for taking the time to look over my question.

Reach4

Reaction score
Any advice on the best size line/configuration to feed the home to maintain as much of the 58psi as possible? Also, is this enough pressure or do I need to consider an option to increase that pressure?
"As possible"? I suspect you you mean economically practical. If you can keep the PSI at 30 or better it is OK for the house. If you can keep it at 40 or better, that is great.

See the top calculator at http://www.engineeringtoolbox.com/hazen-williams-water-d_797.html For simplicity, you can leave the c - design coefficient at the default, or you can change it for better accuracy. You will see that the flow rate is important. 20 GPM might be a reasonable number, although typical flows often stay under 10.