New Construction: Double Sink Rough In

Users who are viewing this thread

chrisf01

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

This is my first time posting on a forum in a long while, so I apologize in advance if I am not following the rules of the road. I have done a fair amount of research and reading on this site and it is very informative, but I cannot seem to find a direct answer to my issue. I am hoping it is a quick review and appreciate in advance any and all feedback folks have, as this was the only source for information like this I can find.

Issue Background: Our family is in the process of working with a production builder on a new construction home. I am generally handy and can fix most things but rough trades and construction are not my area of expertise, so I am hoping to get some guidance from you all. To be a short as possible, my issue is with the way the plumbing for our master sinks was installed - pictures are below 1) is our setup and 2) is how all other homes in the development have been configured. I brought the concern that we only have a single stack drain line to the builder during pre-slab and he said he would check it out. Nothing was done and the slab and framing have completed and now the rough trades have begun. I checked in this week with him and he said nothing to worry about and that it meets code and that he would not change the configuration. I didn't love that response, so I was able to stop and grab another plumber working in a different lot. He took a look and acknowledged he did not understand why they would set it up this way and stated most if not all of the new builds he does have a dedicated stack per sink for better drainage. I believe it is a code-complaint 2" drainage line. Given that all other homes are done the other way it feels like to me that corners were cut to save materials or quickly do the job - realize it might not be the case but just doesn't make sense that all others are done a different way.

My questions are:
1)