new ball valve leaks at stem

Users who are viewing this thread

Kevin G

Reaction score
I am an amateur plumber and have done many non-solder plumbing over the years. Now I am re-modelling a bathroom shower. I installed shut-off valves for hot & cold lines, so that I can work in the shower without getting soaked. The 1/2 inch supply lines in the wall are vertical. I cut open an access hole in the back side of the shower wall. I bought ball-type valves. I kept the valves in the open position while soldering.

QUESTION: How do I keep the valve from leaking at the stem? I have tightened the nut on the valve stem 5 or 6 times over the last 2 days, but there is still a slow drip, every few seconds. Is it possible the valve was damaged due to heat from soldering? I sweated the top side of the valve first, then the bottom. It took several minutes to get the joint hot enough to melt the solder, and I had to do this twice, for top and bottom. Also one joint had a slow leak so I had to re-heat it again and add more solder.

I do not mind cutting out the valve and starting over, but I am not sure what I would do different. If I do start over, I suppose I could sweat the valve joints before installing them, and then solder a mating coupler at the top and bottom which takes less heat to solder than the cast alloy body of the shut-off ball valves.

Cass

Plumber
Reaction score
It sounds lke you may have over heated them...I would bring them back to the big box store if that s where you bought them... their policy is you can return them for any reason at all. The next time you do it you need to heat the fitting qiuckly, apply the solder, then try cooling it quickly with a wet cloth. This will help protect the inside of the valve...

Better still just do your work with the water off then turn it on when you are finished.

Don't even mess with the valve.

Basement_Lurker

One who lurks
Reaction score