Need suggestions on replacement toilet

Users who are viewing this thread

DIYNeophyte

Reaction score
I'm a total newbie with all this stuff, and I would love to get some advice on a good brand/model of replacement toilet. My husband died, and now this stuff is all in my domain.

I have no demands of it (except that it FLUSH and not have any weird quirks) EXCEPT that the toilet be the 'comfort height' and the seat has to be round, not elongated.

Any suggestions for a good, reliable toilet? TIA.

SteveW

DIY Senior Member
Reaction score
Click on the top (of the two) links on Terry's reply above and you'll see a nice comparison of toilets. If you look around the "Toilets" section of this site, you'll see some other reviews. You'll quickly notice a bias (including in me) for Toto toilets on this site. I have a Toto Soiree and really like it - it is not round front, but has great bowl wash, and is "comfort height."

Are you sure you don't want an elongated bowl?

DIYNeophyte

Reaction score
Thank you both for the Toto suggestion. What is the average price of such a toilet, if you know offhand.

To Steve: the bathroom I'm putting this in is small; there's just not enough room for the elongated bowl (when the bathroom is really small, every inch counts!)

Thank you both again for your help - I can't tell you how much I appreciate it.

kc1121

Reaction score
Go to Terry's main site and you'll get an idea on pricing for Toto toilets.

Also, where do you live? Some water companies are now giving rebates if you buy from their list of approved HETs (high efficiency toilets) -- my water company has a bunch of Totos on the list.

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
Because of differences possible in tank design, some elongated toilets are very close in depth to some round ones...it is possible that an elongated one could be smaller.

DIYNeophyte

Reaction score