Need help draining a State water heater

Users who are viewing this thread

Michael Hackett

Reaction score
Hello everyone... I have ran into a situation with a water heater in a house that we recently purchased. Our hot water runs out in about 15 minutes and I'm figuring that we have a bad element that needs to be replaced. No big deal I thought, but then I run into a drain valve that I have never seen. I will attach a photo of it. I attempted to turn the valve under the screw only to find that water rushes out of there along with the hose. How do I drain this thing?

Attachments

• 20161024_074221.jpg
    20161024_074221.jpg
    41.6 KB · Views: 308
  • 1477523250584-2018963395.jpg
    1477523250584-2018963395.jpg
    31.7 KB · Views: 328

Reach4

Reaction score
Since the WH is 34.5 years old, it is probably better to replace it rather than troubleshoot and repair.

Since I am not a pro, at 14 years old, I might try to fix it...

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
The top part of the bonnet may have broken out on your drain. You open the drain and water comes out the top and from the hose fitting?
You may need to find a part for that, doubtful though.
Is this in a place where you can drain it out, like a garage? If not, you may be using something like buckets to drain it with. The last one like that I wheeled outside. They are something like 500 pounds with water in them. It was a bear.

Michael Hackett

Reaction score