Need help connecting new tailpiece to old DWV

Users who are viewing this thread

rmccully

Reaction score
I'm a novice nearing the completion of my complete bathroom remodel. My problem is with my sink drain tailpiece. I'll try to attach a photo, but here is my description of the problem. I purchased a 1.25" nickel p-trap and tailpiece from Lowes to have on display underneath my new pedestal sink. Not knowing what I was doing, I assumed that I could just connect this to the existing tailpiece, also 1.25", which is old and ugly. I had a plumber at the house a couple of days ago to replace my busted toilet closet flange, and I asked him about it. He told me to use a "repair trap," and was kind enough to show me what the piece was. My problem is that I can't find one in brushed nickel. If someone knows of somewhere online that I can get one it would be a big help. I bought a steel one from the store and a considering spray painting it, but I don't know how good it will look.

Alternatively, I could replace the whole tailpiece with the one that came with the drain from Lowe's. Herein lies a bigger challenge. The drain inside the wall is 1.5" steel. The 1.25" tailpiece connects to a 90 degree elbow somehow, which I didn't really take any notice of. I have a photo that shows all of the sink plumbing, and I hoping someone can tell me how to use my new tailpiece with the existing in-wall drain. I've already put new drywall up and painted, so ripping it down to replace the elbow or anything like that is just about the last thing I want to do. The current tailpiece seems to be in there pretty tightly. In the photo, there is a "repair" piece on the straight tailpiece. Please let me know if anything is unclear.

PS This forum has been a tremendous help throughout my project, though this is the first time I've needed to post. Thanks
Ryan
Towson, MD

Attachments

• Drain pipe.jpg
    Drain pipe.jpg
    47.6 KB · Views: 364
Last edited:

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website