Navien NR-240(A) - bypassing recirculation

Users who are viewing this thread

Mostly clueless

Reaction score
Hi,

Newbie here and found this forum very useful as I look for a solutions until the plumber gets here *in a week*

Issue:
Hot water stopped working with my older (2010) Navien NR-240A (NG), with an external circulator/small tank. Turned the unit off and then on again after 60 seconds. It starts up, seems to work for a few seconds, and then briefly makes a higher pitched whine - like something was straining a bit. Then it shut down with error 38 on the control.

- Manual says Abnormal circulation pump Check 1) Circulation pump 2) Flow sensor 3) Cold water main line
- Not savvy enough to do most of this, but while it was open, did a descaling and cleaning of filter, condensate etc.

Troubleshooting to get hot water and get rid of error 38:
- Called Navien, but they would only speak with a plumber. (Our licensed guys will take a week to get here.)
- Called Navien-trained plumbers, they will be here in a week.

Workaround wanted:
- Want hot water.

My thinking:
Thought I could turn the device to internal recirculation mode and that would get us hot water until plumber gets here.

Research:
Page 88: "A" series internal recirculation mode:
a) Dip switch set 2, put 4th switch on and 5th off (currently the 4th is off and 5th is on)
b) Manually set the 3-way valve to 'Internal circulation' (it is currently set to external)

So I shut off the cold and hot water via the valves. Tried to move the valve to internal, but it seems rather hard to do. Didn't want to force anything, so thought I'd bring my newbie self here and ask

a) If I am approaching this the right way
b) If the 2-way valve should be this hard to turn, or do I need to loosen something first?

Many thanks in advance.

Bannerman

Reaction score