Mystery Drain Pipes

Users who are viewing this thread

OCBeach

Reaction score
I've got a question I'm hoping someone might be able to answer. Outside my kitchen sliding glass door I have two pipes that come out, make a 90 degree bend, and then are just open on the end. It looks like this area was cut out specifically to drain from these pipes. In the 3 years I've lived at the house I've never seen water come out of these. Now the area has a bunch of standing water. Throughout the day the water level goes up and down. I've attached a picute of the pipes with the standing water. Anyone have any idea what these pipes could be draining and why they would all the sudden start to drain? Thanks in advanced for the help.

-Total Newbie

Attachments

• 20200825_080702.jpg
    20200825_080702.jpg
    168 KB · Views: 148

Reach4

Reaction score
Where does the relief valve on your WH dump its water?

One could be AC condensation.

If you suck the water out with your wet-dry vacuum cleaner, how quickly does the water rise up again?

OCBeach

Reaction score
Where does the relief valve on your WH dump its water?

One could be AC condensation.

If you suck the water out with your wet-dry vacuum cleaner, how quickly does the water rise up again?

The water heater valve disappears into the wall in the garage so that could be. I do have an AC as well. When I suck the water out its slow to fill, few hours to fill back up.

Reach4

Reaction score
The WH T&P valve has a test lever. If you test, water should come out at a fast rate. When you release the lever, water should stop.

If those things don't happen, replace the T+P valve.

If one is the T+P output, you could have a properly-working T+P valve, but your thermal expansion tank for the WH has gone bad.