Moving lines from Floor to Wall for Vanity Installation (Townhouse)

Users who are viewing this thread

tom2005

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

A newbie here, facing a remodeling of the Master Bathroom (2nd floor) on my Townhouse (tiles and everything). I came across with this dilemma: The water lines and drain pipe come from the floor. The old vanity used to have the underneath covered. The new one will be uncovered and is designed to have the plumbing coming from the wall behind.

The thing is that the wall where I would like to have these lines installed is the end wall of my Townhouse, next to the following unit. I was wondering if this situation is common, doable, or it is simply not allowed since it is the wall that connects with the next Townhouse? I have 2 other bathrooms and they have the plumbing from walls, but those are interior walls. My guess is that there might be a reason why the original developer chose to install the lines from floor in that specific bathroom.

If this can't be done (by code and/or by common sense) I will keep shopping a different vanity then, not that uncovered at the bottom.

(I just cut open a portion of the drywall to peek the frame)

I will appreciate an advice to make a decision here. Thanks in advance!

old.jpeg
new.jpg

1.jpg

5.jpg

wwhitney

In the Trades
Reaction score
Looks like it was a double layer of drywall? That is usually done to provide a specific fire rating, which is what you would expect from a townhouse common wall.

So you'll need to research how to properly repair that double layer of drywall--I expect the seams will have to be staggered, so you'll need to remove a larger area of the front layer than you did of the back layer.

Cheers, Wayne

Jeff H Young

In the Trades
Reaction score