Moving Bathroom, need input on Venting

Users who are viewing this thread

JoshK

Reaction score
Hey guys,

Im located in WNY, Were in the process of remodeling our home and would like to move the bathroom to create a more open concept. The current bathroom is a shower/toilet/sink that is located in the center rear of the home right near the main plumbing stack. Our goal is to move the bathroom to the outside corner of the home, some 12-15 feet away from the main stack. The new bathroom is desired to be a walk-in shower/ stand alone tub/toilet/and sink. From what I understand, the distance this would be from the main stack, It would need to be separately vented. Im having a hard time trying to picture in my mind what the ideal way for my waste lines and venting to go in. Im a mason by trade so I can hold my own, but will probably be bringing in a plumber to help out, I just like to get an understanding. Ive provided a few drawings of our layout, any help would be great and appreciated.

Note: The only walls to run a vertical vent to the upstairs through the 2nd story roof are the 2 exterior walls. There is the master bedroom that is directly above the new desired bathroom.

Attachments

• Bathroom layout.gif
    Bathroom layout.gif
    7.1 KB · Views: 159
  • Bathroom layout 2.png
    Bathroom layout 2.png
    83.5 KB · Views: 160

Reach4

Reaction score
New York state follows IPC.

https://up.codes/viewer/new_york/ipc-2015/chapter/7/sanitary-drainage#704

You would probably run 3 inch pipe to the big drain line where the old toilet went. 1/8 inch per foot slope would be OK. There would probably be a 4x3 closet elbow under the toilet.
The shower and lavatory would wye into that with 3 inch. The lavatory would be vented potentially with an AAV, but you could bring a real vent over from the existing vent, if it is proper, higher than 42 inches above the floor. Could you do that across the ceiling maybe? I am not a plumber.

https://up.codes/viewer/new_york/ipc-2015