Moentrol - Tub or Shower Port?

Users who are viewing this thread

statlanta

Reaction score
This might be a dumb question...

I purchased a Moentrol valve for my shower renovation. I noticed the tub exit port has a larger opening than the shower exit port, and the specs online show the tub exit port with a higher flower rate. Would it be possible / advisable (or ill advised) to use the tub exit port to run my shower? There is no tub and I ask because I'm considering adding another shower head.

Fire away and and thanks for the advise.

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
The tub port does give more volume. It's fine to use that.

moentrol-exploded.jpg

Last edited:

statlanta

Reaction score
Thanks for the info, this is my first time installing a pressure balancing valve. If I go this route should i install the valve upside down with the tub port aiming up? And would it matter which intake ports connect to hot or cold? (In other words, if I mount the valve upside down should I then connect the hot to the right side and cold to the left? Or does it even matter?) I haven't ran the shower lines yet so my options are open.

Sorry if this posted twice, I think I replied directly but meant to reply to the thread...

Jerome2877

In the Trades
Reaction score
Thanks for the info, this is my first time installing a pressure balancing valve. If I go this route should i install the valve upside down with the tub port aiming up? And would it matter which intake ports connect to hot or cold? (In other words, if I mount the valve upside down should I then connect the hot to the right side and cold to the left? Or does it even matter?) I haven't ran the shower lines yet so my options are open.

Sorry if this posted twice, I think I replied directly but meant to reply to the thread...

Install it upside down with the hot on the left and turn the cartridge 180%

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com