Low water pressure moen shower

Users who are viewing this thread

Das

Reaction score
I am new to this form. I'm scatching my head on this one, any help would be greatly appreciated.
I have replaced a leaking moen cartridge and it worked fine for a few days. I pulled the cartridge out and ran it without a cartridge in it to remove any debri, there was no change. I have the same unit in the downstairs and exchanged the cartridges and had no change in pressure from either unit. I examined the inside of the valve. It looks clean. I removed the down spout and shower head, then blew it out with air and no debri was found.

Anyone have any ideas? It's got me stumped. Thank you.

JohnjH2o1

Plumbing Contractor for 49 years
Reaction score
If it was a Moen plastic stem you may have a peace of rubber from the old stem blocking the water passage. Try removing the new stem and have someone turn on the water. Just for a second or two. This should remove the upstruction. Try not to turn the stem when removing it.

John

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
water

What kind of Moen valve? If you have a Moentrol, there is a balancing spool on the right side under the large trim ring, and that could be where you are losing pressure.

Das

Reaction score
If it was a Moen plastic stem you may have a peace of rubber from the old stem blocking the water passage. Try removing the new stem and have someone turn on the water. Just for a second or two. This should remove the upstruction. Try not to turn the stem when removing it.

John

Thanks for answering johnjh201
I got a oem moen brass stem. I flushed it with water and then isolated and flushed with air.

Das

Reaction score
What kind of Moen valve? If you have a Moentrol, there is a balancing spool on the right side under the large trim ring, and that could be where you are losing pressure.

Thanks for answering hj