Linear drain to 1.5" pipe

Users who are viewing this thread

Mike Albanese

Reaction score
Looking for for advice as I've had some conflicting info from different plumbers who have come to the house. I'm doing a master bath remodel and switched from a tub/shower combo to a curbless shower.

The shower will have a Schluter 68" linear drain body. My drain line is only 1.5" and it's on a second level, so switching it all out to 2" would be pretty extensive work.

My understanding on the reason 1.5" was ok in a tub, was the ability to hold a little water that wasn't draining as fast as a 2". Does the Schluter drain body give this same idea? Would a 2" to 1.5" bushing on the Schluter drain be ok or should I change it all out to 2" at a pretty big price.

The shower will have two shower heads, both 2.5 gpm.

Mike Albanese

Reaction score
FWIW, your plumbing code (National Standard Plumbing Code) says that 1-1/2" is OK for a shower with one showerhead, while 2" is required for a shower with 2 or more showerheads. Go to page 96 here:

http://epubs.iapmo.org/NSPC/2021/

Cheers, Wayne

THanks, for some reason I thought I had saw it was by GPM not fixtures, but clearly that says 2" for two heads. From a practical standpoint, do you think it would be an issue running the 1.5"?

My thought just was if I had a regular drain I'd be more concerned, but given the linear drain would be able to hold a decent amount of water before it flowed back up into the shower, it seemed like it wouldn't present an issue of standing water in the shower if it didn't drain as fast as a 2".

wwhitney

In the Trades
Reaction score
THanks, for some reason I thought I had saw it was by GPM not fixtures, but clearly that says 2" for two heads.
That would be the IPC, which many eastern states use, just not NJ. The IPC cutoff for a 1.5" drain on a shower is 5.7 gpm.

You need to have 2 showerheads simultaneously? As your easiest code compliance solution is to have at most one showerhead at a time.