Lightning strike = dead pump? / Poly pipe good or bad for very cold Michigan weather

Users who are viewing this thread

NaterBaiter

Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm in Northern Michigan and have zero experience in well plumbing. I've done a good amount of plumbing with city water. This past Friday, we had a wicked storm with tons of lightning. Woke up Saturday morning to no water what so ever. Crawled in crawl space to discover (sorry if verbage isn't exact I'm a newbie) the submersible motor control panel humming and the black cylinder (I was told it was like a starter/relay that powers well pump) exploded. The unit says 1/2 HP but the previous owner who installed the well swears it's a 3/4 and that he just threw a 1/2 in there because it's all he could find (it worked for the whole year and a half we've lived here) I went to Menards and got a new 3/4 HP unit and new pressure switch. I installed both and still nothing. Pretty sure it's the actual pump due to lightning strike (if you think I should check something else PLEASE let me know, I'd like to save the $1,000 I'll have to spend).

Previous owner told me the "drop line" is PVC piping. Can I opt to use poly piping instead of PVC? Or is poly pipe not advised because of the extremely cold winters here. Thanks in advance

Nate

2stupid2fixit

Reaction score
Need to know if its a 2 or 3 wire pump. Because you mention a control panel, I going on a limb and guessing it is a 3 wire pump.

the differences:
a TWO wire pump will have two wires with about 120 volts on each wire, and a probably but not always a ground wire. Even though 3 separate wires come off the pump, we call it a two wire pump because the motor uses only 2 wires unless something has gone very wrong.

A THREE wire pump puts the motor start up electronics (resistors, capacitors) at ground level or better and these components can be serviced without bringing the pump to the surface.