Lift pump

Users who are viewing this thread

sixkilo

Reaction score
I have been pumping water from my well head for 28 years via 1 hp convertible jet with injector installed on the pump housing( Aermotor 1 hp). My idea is to replace the 1 hp with injector installed like it has been before on the nose of pump. It lifts from the well head which is 25Ft lower and 250ft away 1 1/4 inch single line. The well has a 1 1/2 hp submersible. The well is 320' deep. Do not know water height. This will be my 3rd lift pump. One was destroyed by neighbors (shared well) error and the other one just wore out. I can either get pumps with injector (online supply house, cheaper but unsure of quality) which are easy to find, or a Gould or Sta-rite without. If i choose the latter where can I find matching injector? My efforts to locate them is proving futile. Thanks

Reach4

Reaction score
You have a well with a submersible pump. That fills a cistern located near the well.

You use a convertible jet pump, set up as a shallow well jet pump, to provide pressure from the cistern to the house, and you are looking for a new jet pump.

Is that an accurate reading?

Why not have the submersible pump provide the pressure to the house, and eliminate using the cistern?

sixkilo

Reaction score
The well does not have a cistern. My neighbors house supplies power to submersible. She has a pressure tank for her needs as well. At my house the pressure is inadequate. Thus I have the lift pump and a pressure tank as well. It works. My real question is locating the injector for a better grade pump like Goulds.

Valveman

Cary Austin
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
cyclestopvalves.com
You don't have a "lift" pump, you have a booster pump. You should not be using a deep well jet but instead need a shallow well jet pump. A jet pump with the ejector attached right to the pump is called a convertible pump, and will work as a booster. In Goulds a shallow well pump would be a J7S or J10S.

Bannerman