LIberty 404 Basin Pump - To Vent or not to vent

Users who are viewing this thread

Takeadoe

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

A bit about myself before my first post, which I'm afraid is likely to prompt some to say - OMGosh, not again. Anyhow, I'm a wildlife biologist living in a college town. I own 3 single-family rentals. I follow directions well, I like to learn, I know my limits, and I realize that time is precious. Any time of yours that you can spare, is genuinely appreciated. I've never built a house, but I can do more than change a light bulb. Here's the skinny. Two-story house built in the 40s. Washing machine in the basement. WM drains into a utility tub. Utility tub drains into a floor drain in the corner.

Floor drain is dead. My plan it to plug floor drain, after I install a Liberty basin pump (model 404). My plan was to use a wye fitting to tie directly into the overhead sewer line (see photo below). Initially, that was my biggest concern. Now it seems that venting has become the real issue.

Note that the white pipe coming in from the right drains the toilet from the second floor. The black pipe that it joins runs another 20' and exits the house. The black pipe coming in from your left accepts the first floor bath and the kitchen sink/dishwasher. That is the line that I planned to tie into. Now, onto what seems to get the hair up on the back of everyone's neck - how to handle venting. I have read a ton of posts and this seems to be a topic that stirs a bit of debate. For instance, I found the post below. Perhaps I'm misreading, but it says, "No vent of any kind other than the sewer line is vented up stream of this connection." Immediately following this post, another member says in no uncertain terms this must be vented through the roof.