Lesson Realized

Users who are viewing this thread

Statjunk

DIY Senior Member
Reaction score
Hello All,

Just thought I would share this realization that I came to yesterday.

I've been flipping and remodeling houses now for about 6 years. My older wiser buddy said something to me early on, after the first one, that I just accepted but didn't absorb. He said, "You'll never be able to buy another house". His message had some adhesion but it wasn't until yesterday that it really stuck.

Here's how it stuck. Another buddy just bought a house. He invites me over and he's so excited about it. I walk through it and while this house isn't the worst I've seen it still needs a lot of work. There are violations a plenty in this thing. Unsealed duct work, exposed wiring, galvanized plumbing, unstrapped plumping, rusty electical panel, bad drywall, poorly done trim with loads of Alex Caulk etc...

So I think my buddy is right I'll likely never just buy a house. To many lemons out there. I guess I'll always have to buy'em cheap and fix'em up.

Any of you guys in the same boat?

Tom

Spaceman Spiff

Architect
Reaction score
I'm a commercial architect and I can't ever just go into a resturant or my kids school anymore and be about my business... I'm always looking at the materials, construction, traffic flow, ADA access, noise, etc.
I can no longer just "go out to dinner".

Old Dog

G.C. 22+ years(in 3 states)
Reaction score
drive the wife nuts...

Spaceman Spiff said:
I'm a commercial architect and I can't ever just go into a resturant or my kids school anymore and be about my business... I'm always looking at the materials, construction, traffic flow, ADA access, noise, etc.
I can no longer just "go out to dinner".

As a G.C. I do this every where... can't help myself but drives the wife nuts if she is with me.If we are going over to a friend's house the first thing she says "don't say anything!They may of done some of the work themselves."