Leaking Sterling 3-handle Shower Tub faucet

Users who are viewing this thread

TangledHeart

Reaction score
I have a 3 handle shower tub faucet that has leaked for years. I replaced the stems last year, but recently learned that the ones hardware store gave me to use were the wrong ones. I brought in the original, and being a novice, I was under the impression the associates working there had the knowledge to give me the proper replacement parts. Against my better judgement I used the Price Pfister stem replacements that were given to me by the sales associate. It started to leak shortly after and washers have since been replaced twice.
There was a leak on the main water shut off, and since the water had to be shut off for the repair, I decided to go ahead and replace the washers, or rebuild, whatever it would take to stop the leak. Since there was issues with the diverter, I decided to go ahead and rebuild or replace that too. THAT was WHEN I realized my gut feeling was correct and the stems were not the correct ones. Before I went to the hardware store, I went online and crossed referenced images and descriptions older faucets and the diverter . I found out the original parts were/are Sterling.
Beings Sterling is no longer manufacturing these faucets, I had to find either an after market repair/replacement kit or find somewhere that still has the parts. I prefer OEM, and found a plumbing supply that carry Sterling parts. Since I no longer have the original stems, all I had to go on was the diverter and the original seats.
Knowing how important it is to have the seats in good shape, I chose to replace the old ones. I cleaned up the inside of the manifold as much as I was able. It didn't appear to be stripped or gouged in any way. I used a plumbers brush to clear any debris that may be left, and blew it out.
I purchased new all 3 new seats, H/C stems with original washers, new diverter stem and washers, and all the trim.