Lavatory drain path to avoid beam

Users who are viewing this thread

FLWmimic

Reaction score
Hi, First time poster, lots of time lurker here.

I have a mudroom lavatory over a suspended concrete slab (new construction). Unfortunately, the 1 1/2" drain landed directly over one of the integral 5" W X 11" D beams. The 4" slab (over 7" polystyrene formwork) has already been poured. I just now realized that my sub used a 90 elbow/4-6" chunk of pipe/90 elbow combination to avoid the beam (I can't tell whether they are long-sweep 90s). It's all over a storage area of the basement.

I would have used a couple of 45s. Function & building-it-right are my first priorities. However, I am a novice, an owner-builder, and I am the first to admit that I don't know best. On the other hand, I'm a farm girl: this mudroom will be USED, and I don't want it to get clogged!

Should I go to the time, bone-jarring effort and eternal concrete dust to correct this (if I even can)? I will be renting a 3" core drill this next week (to fix other problems this sub created), so now is the time to do this if I should. However, I need you experts to tell me whether I should based on benefits/costs analysis. I admit that I'm anal, so is this really a problem, or not?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
Can you post a picture of what is there now? 800 pixels or less and an attachment.

Normally from vertical to horizontal, a long sweep. From horizontal to vertical a medium sweep.
If this is what you have I would leave it. And yes, the 45's are better.

FLWmimic

Reaction score
Can you post a picture of what is there now? 800 pixels or less and an attachment.

Normally from vertical to horizontal, a long sweep. From horizontal to vertical a medium sweep.

FLWmimic

Reaction score