Laundry Sink Piping Help

Users who are viewing this thread

brentalones

Reaction score
Hi, first thanks for the great advice through this forum!

I'm by no means a plumbing expert, but I do like to DIY as much as possible and want to make sure I get the waste plumbing right. I just got a stackable washer/dryer set and now have some extra space for a laundry sink. I opened up the walls in my garage where the current set up is (hopefully this pic shows through well). I'm trying to figure out the best way to tie into the existing plumbing/vents and have everything work properly. After reading quite a few postings and reviewing suggested setups, I don't see one that looks exactly like the setup I have here.

I have two options I think, 1st is to turn the washer drain pipe into the laundry sink drain and simply drain the washer into the sink basin. I don't like how that will look, but it seems like the easiest route since all the venting is already setup. The 2nd option (which I'm hoping someone can offer some help!) is to tie into the existing line and install the waste pipe for the sink.

I'm think I may be able to simply tie in a sani-tee and route a washer vent above the new sani-tee in case the sink were blocked ever for some reason. I marked on the photo with a green link where the new vent connection would be and in a red box where I'd install the sani-tee for the sink. Does that look okay? Sorry if I'm way off too!

I appreciate all your advice!

Brent

Laundry Piping- sani tee 1.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
Your "second vent" is not a vent

Your red box area can not be tied into for waste or a drain.

The area above that can be used for a re-vent at 42" above the floor.

washer_rough_flip.jpg

Last edited:

brentalones

Reaction score