Kitchen sink/counter top replacement

Users who are viewing this thread

desmoface

Reaction score
Hey gang, I'm a total newbie here...We are starting to plan a replacement of our kitchen sink and counter tops...

Looks like solid surface/corian is a good way to go..anybody have any advice on any better options? Also, what is a good brand of garbage disposer to go with? Is Insinkerator good?? Thanks in advance for any advice.

Steve

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
Lot's of choices...Corian is one of them - don't get stuck on a single brand, though. Some people prefer the natural stone look. Depending on what you select, real stone can be less expensive. Corian (and similar items) can be scratched, is heat sensitive, but can be sanded and buffed out. You get a true one-piece install. A slab often needs to be put on in pieces. But (not all need sealing), once sealed, is pretty bulletproof. You can get a matching sink (in many designs) for a solid surface built-in sink, too. Since that part gets the most wear and tear, though, another type sink might be better - scratches and discoloration can be a problem as it ages with things being moved around the sink. I prefer an undermount sink to a drop-in,as it makes it so much easier to wipe crumbs, etc., into the sink - the lip makes that nearly impossible, and harbors accumulating crud.

Except for some design choices, I prefer stone to the man-made stuff. Ask 50 people, you'll get 50 opinions.

desmoface

Reaction score
Hi Jim, thanks for all the info...We are going to look around at a coule of local showrooms tomorrow and see what we like (were near Cleveland, Ohio)..The wife said her sister has a corian sink and she has to be carefull what she uses to clean it, like you said, it's suseptible to scratching..so it looks like a stainless sink is in order for us, for it's durability...We also like the sink mounted unerneath for the same reasons you noted.