Issue with installing a new flange for the toilet. Advice needed on moving forward...

Users who are viewing this thread

Grant Kinsey

Reaction score
My toilet started leaking a bit ago, and it has progressively gotten worse. Upon removing the toilet one of the closet bolts has broken, so I have to replace the flange. However, the flange isn't set in there like a normal flange, and I'm not sure how to move forward.

If you notice in the pictures, the drain pipe and the flange are offset a good bit, and I don't think I can get around doing it this way again. The last plumber must have cemented in the flange or something, so I'm guessing I'll have to break out the old flange. After breaking it out what should I do? I'm really at a loss, and I'm not a pro at plumbing by any means. Thanks!

Attachments

• IMG_1091.jpg
    IMG_1091.jpg
    119 KB · Views: 379
  • IMG_1092.jpg
    IMG_1092.jpg
    112 KB · Views: 357
  • IMG_1093.jpg
    IMG_1093.jpg
    109.1 KB · Views: 368

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
They make repair flanges that will hold the closet bolts. I mount those to the flooring above the flange.
I don't really see well enough to know what flange you have there, or the material for a complete replacement.

Grant Kinsey

Reaction score
They make repair flanges that will hold the closet bolts. I mount those to the flooring above the flange.
I don't really see well enough to know what flange you have there, or the material for a complete replacement.