Is Ground Wire necessary on sub pump?

Users who are viewing this thread

Jfharper

Reaction score
I'm installing a new sub and it has 4 wires, RYBG. My wire running up my drop pipe has only 3-wires, RYB to my control box. The old sub only had RYB coming off of the pump and that is how it was wired to the control box.

Is the G wire necessary?

Reach4

Reaction score
Necessary? The pump doesn't care. Newer codes call for the ground to be run back to the breaker panel.

I don't think you are required to bring existing pump wire up to that when replacing a pump. I think it is common to tape the not-connected end of the green wire with the other wires. I am not a pro.

Boycedrilling

In the Trades
Reaction score
Yes it is necessary according to the National Electric Code. That is the only acceptable answer by anyone in the profession.

Yes a pump installer is required by the NEC to add a grounding wire to an existing installation if the pump is pulled and reinstalled.

This has been the law for over 30 years. Agree or disagree with the NEC, it’s still required.

ThirdGenPump

In the Trades
Reaction score
My code says there has to be a ground so we change the wire. It's been that way long enough that changing the wire is generally a good idea anyway.

If you want to reuse the same wire and the pump is 1.5hp or less you can change it over to a 2wire motor and use the yellow for the ground.

If you install it without a ground, the green lead can wick water into the motor housing.

Reach4

Reaction score
Yes a pump installer is required by the NEC to add a grounding wire to an existing installation if the pump is pulled and reinstalled.

This has been the law for over 30 years. Agree or disagree with the NEC, it’s still required.
Fortunately my well people did not see it that way when they removed my pit and reinstalled the pump with a pitless. Maybe codes differ. Maybe interpretations differ.