Irrigation Well Issues

Users who are viewing this thread

kboyette

Reaction score
Newbie here, please be gentle. So here is my story...

I have a home on a half acre lawn that was originally hooked up to municipal water for everything including irrigation. About 2 years ago I installed a shallow sandpoint system with 4 points and a 1-1/2 hp self-primng pump. It worked pretty good until recently. I think the problem is the drought has dropped the water table to the point that there is not enough water to run the system. The system loses prime when at rest and surges on and off when running for more than 15 minutes. I found one of my check valves went bad so I replaced it, but it hasnt helped.

SO...... first, is there anything that I should check before I resort to more drastic measures?

If not, I have been researching a deep water well solution. Here locally a resident can install there own well that is 2" or smaller. So I'm looking at a used hydra-drill 2000 that will drill a 4" hole. From what I gather this would allow for a 2" casing and the required 1" of concrete around all sides for contamination sealing. This well will only be used for irrigation and maybe to top off my pool occassionaly. Other wells in the area range in depth from 40' to about 100'. So with this said, what sort of GPM should I expect from a 2" well? I'm assuming a deep well jet-pump is my only choice. I have 13 zones with no more than 4 Hunter PGP rotors on each zone. I think my max GPM need would be 12-14GPM.

Thanks for the help.

Last edited:

Valveman

Cary Austin
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
cyclestopvalves.com
I think you will find that 2" casing is a little small for a deep well jet. The water level must be less than 25' or so, for a shallow well jet with one pipe in the well to work. I am afraid this may be the problem you have now.

Speedbump

Reaction score