Irrigation. Another low flow question

Users who are viewing this thread

greenerdreams

Reaction score
Hello new member, but have used the forum for a long time for info. I am a landscape contractor with 20 years of experience installing, with a small part of our services being irrigation. In the past i have only had a handful of homes with low flow and we usually just dealt with it by breaking into many zones.

We just bought a new to us home, the house has high static pressure (80) but dynamic pressure quickly falls to almost zero. when using my gauge on an outside hose bib it will start at over 13gpm and stabilize to about 4.5gpm. The yard is fairly large(want to irrigate about an acre) and i dont want to break it into a huge amount of zones.

I have looked for advice from past posts but nothing seems to quite fit my situation. we are on city water and i just installed a 1" double check valve immediately after the 5/8x3/4 meter(that was recently replaced with an up to date meter that has remote monitoring) and took a reading straight out of the check valve getting almost the exact same psi and gpm.

curious what others suggest as the most effective method for a more useful supply for the irrigation system( would love to have at least 30psi @10gpm or higher. I would prefer to stay away from a cistern if possible but a pressure tank would be an option.

i guess my last question is whether cities are responsible for supplying a certain flow and psi, since we are paying for the resource?
BTW, the supply in the house is adequate since we rarely use more than one point source at a time.

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
My mothers place in Bellevue has a 5/8" meter, but I brought in a 1.5" service line from the meter because of the distance I was running on her 3/4 acre lot.