Iron bacteria

Users who are viewing this thread

NeilDavid

Reaction score
This is my first time posting. Recently installed a shallow well down to about 15 feet. Directly on a river bank. Water comes out tinted and then after 20 minutes or so in a bucket it turns into orange sludge. If I go deeper will this fix the problem or do I need to get a certain variety of filter that will take care of this problem? Thank you

Reach4

Reaction score
I don't know the answer to your questions, but I don't think fast effect you see is from bacteria. Iron bacteria are usually slow.

Could this be clay settling in the bucket? Try running water from the well onto the ground for a while to let stuff wash out. See if that gives clearer water.

Is this water for your house use? It can be treated. A drilled deep well will tap into deeper water, which could have more or less iron.

Last edited:

NeilDavid

Reaction score
I don't know the answer to your questions, but I don't think fast effect you see is not from bacteria. Iron bacteria are usually slow.

Could this be clay settling in the bucket? Try running water from the well onto the ground for a while to let stuff wash out. See if that gives clearer water.

Is this water for your house use? It can be treated. A drilled deep well will tap into deeper water, which could have more or less iron.
It's for our camper. I let the water run through a hose a hose for an hour. It runs through the faucet clearish. After ten minutes the sink is stained red. Very sandy soil. It may have been longer in the bucket.

NeilDavid

Reaction score
I looked up an image of iron bacteria and it is exactly what it looks like.

Reach4

Reaction score
Consider this experiment. If you stir a tablespoon of chlorine bleach into a gallon of water fresh from the well, that will stop bacteria. If the formation of the precipitate speeds up, then the rust colored precipitate is from oxidation.

NeilDavid

Reaction score