Industry Relationships

Users who are viewing this thread

NHmaster3015

Master Plumber
Reaction score
As many of you may know, I am currently a plumbing and HVACR instructor at a local highschool in New Hampshire. Its not a job I jumped at. I have been a business owner and contractor for many years but there comes a time when I think its important to give back to the community and the trade that has served me so well so I semi-retired from my company 10 years ago and started a new career as a teacher. I also teach year two of the plumbing apprentice program as well as license recertification seminars. According to the department of labor, there are currently 186,000 jobs available in the HVACR trade with tripple that number expected over the next twenty years. In other words there is a critical shortage of skilled workers in that trade but, that shortage carries over into most of the skilled trades and manufacturing. WalMart recently devoted 250 billion, thats billion folks with a B, or 25 billion over the next 10 years to doing WHATEVER it can to shore up and revitalize manufacturing in this country. Now, I don't want to get political here and I am well aware of many folks opinion of WalMart. I'm also aware that WalMart must see value for their 250 billion or they wouldn't be making the investment but I am of the opinion that politics aside ANYTHING being done is better than nothing.