Identify Threaded or compression shut-off valve from photo?

Users who are viewing this thread

JasonM

Reaction score
I am a novice DIY in plumbing.

I need to replace at least 30 years old shut-off value in the bathroom sink shut-off valve. I showed the attached photo to my friend who is good at plumbing and to one of the Home Depot staff. My friend said it is threaded, and HD staff said it is compression ring shut-off valve. I am confused. I think for the compression ring valve the exposed thread is too long, but for threaded valve, the female nut is absent.

Could you tell which one is correct from the photo? Thank you very much.

20131116_150432.jpg

Caduceus

Master Plumber
Reaction score
It is a compression valve. I recommend removing the old nut as well as the old compression ring. It may not be easy, but there is a tool at HD that removes faucet handles and has an adapter for pulling compression rings, too. Removing and replacing the escutcheon would be a plus since you could use the extra room on the pipe for the new valve.

JasonM

Reaction score
Caduceus, I really appreciate your answer.

If it is a compression ring shut off valve, I am kind of leery of doing it myself because I am afraid of of the water leaks after installing the shut-off valve. I may have to call professional plumber.

Thank you very much.

JasonM

Reaction score
By the way, Caduceus, the reason I need to replace the shut off valve is because I can not turn the knob to shut off the water. I think it is at least 5 years or more since I turned the valve, and I think water mineral deposited and hardened.

I guess replacing the valve is the best solution for this problem.

Thank you.

Caduceus

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Your welcome. There is no shame in calling a professional to take care of the problem. That's why we're here.

Smooky

In the Trades
Reaction score