I hired a professional, but this doesnt look right...

Users who are viewing this thread

Blister64

Reaction score
I'm in the process of finishing my basement and decided you hire out the plumbing work to speed things up a bit.

Had him install a Delta R22000 valve and diverter for the shower. The lower 2 ports where he attached the PEX are angled slightly towards the shower and go past the flat plain of the wall by about 1/4 to 1/2 inch, which means the drywall or hardibacker will be pushing against the PEX. When I mentioned it to him, his response was taking a 2x6, pushing the tubing back flush with the wall, and saying it'd be close but should work...

I'm afraid the wall material will be uneven, making the tile not flat and the faucet not flush against the tile, as well as the stress on the pic tubing and crimps if the lines are pushed back that hard (it's pretty damn hard to push back as it's so close to the valve).

I'm no professional plumber, but does this seem right?

20171206_012241.jpg

20171206_012245.jpg

20171206_012305.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
It may not be a problem. It could have easily been avoided by putting a stub on the lower fittings before the pex elbow to move those lines far enough out to the side to clear the upper ones instead of angling them as he did.