HTP UFT 80w - running out of hot water too quickly

Users who are viewing this thread

bbender716

Reaction score
Hi all, apologies for my relative lack of knowledge compared the average member here.

Just moved into a new home with radiant floor heating powered by an HTP UFT 80w combined with a storage tank for hot water. I'm new to both tankless and radiant flooring but the previous owner was an HVAC and specialized in radiant flooring.

The current issue is that we run out of water relatively quickly. A 10-15 minute shower but definitely not enough for a bath. In terms of equipment we have the HTP UFT80w, and a Grundfos Comfort Recirculator (running on Auto). The settings on the HTP are dizzying but are all relatively close to the installer default, except the outside min/max settings that match the local area 99% values. I did reset the circuit these were on for an unrelated reason at some point but I don't think that changed anything.

Any ideas on what settings to check on the HPT or suggestions to increase hot water supply without sacrificing too much efficiency?

Home is a 2400 sqft ranch built in the 1960s.

Thank you so much for your help and patience!

-BB

Dana

In the trades
Reaction score
How big is the tank, and what is the storage temperature set to?

NY_Rob

In the Trades
Reaction score
Shame the OP never came back... the UFT80-W can actually supply all the hot water he needs if setup correctly.

Dana

In the trades
Reaction score
I agree. It would be useful to know what his settings are. A picture of the installation might tell us something too, but I suspect this is primarily about the settings (on either the boiler, the tank, or both.)

bbender716

Reaction score
I agree. It would be useful to know what his settings are. A picture of the installation might tell us something too, but I suspect this is primarily about the settings (on either the boiler, the tank, or both.)