How many #6 wires in 3/4 inch rigid conduit?

Users who are viewing this thread

Reach4

Reaction score
Rigid? Did you maybe mean EMT, which is often called "thin wall"? I think the conduit can serve as the protective ground with the right couplings, so the 2 #6 wires can be alone. I am not an electrician.You might want to consider if you want another utility circuit while you are pulling the wires.

Last edited:

Erico

Reaction score
Rigid? Did you maybe mean ENT, which is often called "thin wall"? I think the conduit can serve as the protective ground with the right couplings, so the 2 #6 wires can be alone. I am not an electrician.You might want to consider if you want another utility circuit while you are pulling the wires.

I should have mentioned this will be under ground to the space in my yard. So I plan on using rigid. Unless I can use EMT underground??

Using the conduit as a ground would be nice too if that is kosher. But I think the circuitry requires a ground which would need to be connected to the conduit or box if it is metal. Not sure if that would fly.

Stuff

Reaction score
For 40 amps you can go with 8 gauge wire. Since the draw will be 30 amp a buffer is already built in. Ground wire can be 10 gauge.

How hard the pull is will depend on the number of bends. Two or less should be fairly easy. Also - you could go with UF cable.

The charger is a 240v load so no neutral needed.

It is a plastic box so using rigid is going to be a pain to transition properly.

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score